Just another WordPress.com site

My Music

Out of most of my friends, I would say I have the broadest range of music taste. Besides for a few, I pretty much listen to all music genres and enjoy all different types of music. I love country and bluegrass, hip hop, rock, reggae, indie, show tunes, old school music such as Frankie Valli and the Righteous Brothers, and more. When I was younger, I would always listen to the music my parents would play. My dad has always been a huge fan of reggae and artists such as Bruce Springsteen and Bob Dylan, so from an early age I would listen to this music and learned to like it; while my mom loved artists like Alison Krauss, different country and folk singers, and loved the Red Hot Chili Peppers and the Counting Crows.

I also grew up with many older cousins, so their taste in music influenced me as well. I      began to love bands of the 80’s and 90’s such as Tiffany, the Spin Doctors, Third Eye  Blind, TLC, Savage Garden, New Kids on The Block, etc. I must admit I also loved the boy  bands that took over the 90s and loved the Spice Girls. Growing older I became more into  bands such as O.A.R., Guster, and Dispatch because so many of my friends in school  listened to bands like these. So clearly I have been exposed to many different styles of  music my entire life, all of which I have loved. Throughout my lifetime of listening to  music, I have listened to it on cassette tapes, walkmen, CD’s, Ipods, and just my laptop,  but this summer I got an Ipad and this is where I store all of my music. I love that  the Ipad speakers get really loud, so I love playing all of my music on the Ipad. However,  while driving I typically listen mix tapes that I have burned. I buy almost all of my music  on Itunes because I absolutely hate the quality most of the time of illegally downloaded  music. I have never used Pandora before, but most of my friends and family members use it  and I have only heard good things about it. I have been meaning to start using Pandora  for a while, especially since I don’t store my music on my laptop anymore. I love playing  music at all times, even when I’m doing my work. In order to concentrate, I usually play music that I don’t know all of the words to since I usually tend to sing along with music, so I think Pandora would be an easy and accessible way for me to listen to music I like, and find out more music. Another way music plays a big role in my everyday life is while I’m working out or before a big game in high school. While running or getting pumped up before a game, I like listening to either hardcore rap or any music that makes me angry, as weird as that is. For example, while running I love listening to Blink 182, Eminem, or songs where I can tell the artist has been through a lot. Music like this motivates me in the gym or on the field for different reasons. First, it allows me to get angry myself, and pumps me up and makes me ready to let out steam by running or working hard. Also, the sadness and intensity of this music sometimes reminds me of hard times I’ve dealt with, and running always makes me feel better and is a good way for me to brush things off. Lastly, intense music that speaks of rough times in that artists life makes me think, “if this person has had to deal with all of this hard stuff, such as abuse, hard pasts, drugs, etc, I can easily run two miles”. Most people see me as a very cheerful, happy person, so all of this can come off as surprising to many people who know me, and generally I am a very happy person, but I enjoy working out because it allows me to listen to music I don’t normally listen to.

As I said, I listen to music all the time. Music calms me down, but also makes my life more entertaining. I love singing along to songs and trying to figure out what the artist is singing about. For example, all of Adam Duritz’s songs seem so sad and it interests me to think about what he issinging about. Music also entertains me because I always sing along to songs, especially when I am driving and taking a shower. I also think music is a great way to bond with people. It’s always nice to find people who enjoy the same music you do, and it is fascinating to me to know what kind of music other people like. I believe music helps you understand people better. Music has always been a big part of my life, and I think myself, and the whole population of the world would be much different without music.

Leave a Reply

